Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well, today marks 13 years since MJ was abused.

I would LOVE to not remember this day, but alas, it’s stuck in my head no matter how hard I try to forget it.

I will say, this year is a little easier to deal with. I noticed my anxiety, while high, is not AS high. So, progress right?

The worst thing about remembering today, is that I have this feeling of guilt.

These words keep playing in my head, over and over.

“What if you had been a better mother?”

“You should have known.”

“It’s your fault this happened.”

It takes all I have to overcome these thoughts that attempt to consume me.

Nothing could have prepared me for this situation. I literally trusted these girls whom I thought were my friends, with my entire life.

So today, 13 years later, I’m reminding myself, it was not in my power.

He is safe.

They will never harm him again.

I am NOT responsible for someone else’s lack of good judgment.

I am a good mom.

Summer 2021