Tags

, , , , ,

The other night was interesting. No worries friends, it ended up being a good interesting!

We picked up E from ABA therapy and my in laws surprised both boys with a trip to the movie Planes! (Very cute movie by the way! A bit intense in a few scenes, but overall good!)

After the movie we went to Sears to get my in laws new phones. They knew what they were after, and knew where it was, so that shouldn’t take too long, right?

Wrong.

The store we went to was quite understaffed. There was only one young gentleman working the section by himself. I understand it isn’t his fault, and in this economy, how can I blame the store?

I don’t normally mind waiting, but both boys were having sensory overloads. So, I asked for a manager to come so we could get E and MJ out before we were fully past the point of no return.

I went to explain my situation and was dumbfounded with the response that I was met with.

An elder gentleman that works at this store, rolled his eyes and said, “whatever.”

Then, as E was laying on the ground and screaming, because at this point we had been waiting 25 minutes, other customers were coming around and staring… Snickering, too.

This same employee says, “Yeah, I’ve been watching them for a while now and the parents just won’t discipline him!” Then flashed us a dirty look, and continued to talk about us.

Finally, a kind young employee named, Kelvin (or Kevin, I couldn’t get a good sight of his name tag… All I was seeing was red from anger) came and helped my husband’s parents.

When he was done ringing them up I told him about what had transpired, and then asked if I could please speak with a manager.

He was in shock and immediately got a supervisor by the name of Gordon. (I hope I spelled it right.)

Gordon was so kind and understanding.

I explained the situation and he apologized. He said “We do not tolerate this at all.”

He really handled the situation with compassion and took it seriously.

If I were in a higher up position in Sears (looking at the Augusta GA Mall), I would recommend these young men for big promotions!

Handling a young mother of children with special needs, who had just been publicly bashed by another employee, well, that could have ended differently.

I’ve been in situations where it has, and the outcome was appalling.

This was good, and those men were blessings to my family.

If you are reading this gentlemen, “thank you.”

Truly.

And to the older gentleman, I forgive you.

Luke 6:31

“And as you wish that others would do to you, do so to them.”