Tags

, , , , , ,

I thought I’d had a few more years before this mean stage, but I guess I was wrong.

Yesterday my boys were out at McDonalds at a birthday party. Well, while they were there a “big kid” was apparently bullying them.

He called them “losers” and “retarded.”

I hate those words.

It gets worse though. They were kicked. This kid was smart and knew to kick them in the tunnel like things where no one could see him.

MJ didn’t know how to get help, and E won’t say anything.

I feel so heartbroken. I have already had to explain to MJ that some people are just nasty, and that’s why his eyes are different colors.

To the bully:

Why? Why my sons? MJ is 4 and E is 2. Were they small enough for you? Did you feel like a big boy? Are you proud of yourself?
Yup. You are a big strong tuff guy, picking on toddlers and preschoolers like that!

To the bully’s parents:
What are you teaching your child? Where were you?! Why was your kid in the play area to begin with?!
Are you proud that your son picks on small children?
Small autistic children?
Sure they talk, but they don’t always know how to use their words!

I don’t think I’d be as angry as I am right now if, they didn’t have marks on them…

We are looking into finding out more about this.

Back to the “R” word;

It is just as hurtful as the “N” word. It’s ignorant.

How would you feel if someone used that word to describe your baby? That sweet little boy or girl that you love with your whole heart… Now imagine that child had special needs.

Do you see where I’m coming from?

It’s not about being “PC,” it’s about being compassionate. It’s about thinking before you speak. Just a little bit, really.

I don’t think that’s really too much to ask for!

Remember, you can end that cycle. You can teach your children the right way.

Remember to love your neighbors!

John 13:34-35

“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.”